Skip to content

Heritage Ireland

Murrisk Augustinian Abbey

Ruins of an Augustinian Friary in the shadow of Croagh Patrick

Access available during daylight hours

See all opening times

Murrisk Augustinian Abbey

Ruins of an Augustinian Friary in the shadow of Croagh Patrick

Access available during daylight hours

See all opening times

Admission

Free Admission

Getting here

Carrowkeel
Co. Mayo

Get Directions

Murrisk Augustinian Abbey

Situated in the scenic location of Clew Bay, with Croagh Patrick as an impressive backdrop, lies the ruins of Murrisk Abbey.

Established around 1456 by Hugh O’Malley, a Gaelic Chieftain, for the Augustinian friars, Murrisk was dedicated to St. Patrick, and was said to have held some of his relics. It also marked the start of the Croagh Patrick pilgrimage.

The small church and the surrounding domestic buildings are what remain of the abbey today.

Protect our Past - Click here to read about the importance of protecting our country’s unique heritage sites

This national monument is protected in accordance with the National Monuments Acts 1930 to 2014

Opening Times

Access available during daylight hours

Notice

Murrisk Abbey is a state-owned free site in the care of the Office of Public Works

Contact

Carrowkeel
Co. Mayo

Getting Here

Approximately 8km from Westport

Open location in Google Maps

Click the relevant icon below to open Maps directions

Facilities

  • Car park

Restrictions

Nearby sites to visit

You might also like

Heritage Card

Unlimited access to Ireland’s past

Buy one today

Join our mailing list

Subscribe

Keep up to date on our news, events, activities and publications.