Skip to content

Oidhreacht Éireann

Tours of the Magazine Fort

Praghas

Díolta Amach

Áirithint

Dátaí

April 1st - 8th at 11:00am

restored arched entrance to the magazine fort

The beautifully restored 18th century Magazine Fort in the Phoenix Park will be open for introductory tours this Spring from the 1st of April.

The Fort has been subject to a phased restoration, the highlight of which was the rebuilding of the iconic 'Duke of Dorset Gate'

Designed by Captain John Corneille and completed c. 1736, the Magazine Fort served as a continuous military installation for over 250 years. Managed by the British Army until 1922 and subsequently by Irish Military Authorities, the site was transferred to the Office of Public Works in 1988.

The fort holds immense historical, archaeological, and architectural significance. It famously served as the signal for the 1916 Easter Rising when it was raided on Easter Monday, 24 April. Decades later, on 23 December 1939, it was the site of the "Christmas Raid" by the IRA.

Guided Tours:

Join the Phoenix Park Guide Service for a deep dive into the fort's storied past. Tours offer a unique look at ongoing conservation efforts, the restoration of the original Duke of Dorset Gate, and the fascinating human stories that shaped this landmark.

Visitor Information:

Time: Daily from April 1st at 11:00 am

Booking: Free, but advance booking is required via Eventbrite

Meeting Point: Please meet at the main gate of the fort 5 minutes before the tour begins.

Capacity: Tours are strictly limited to 12 people.

Parking: Available at the GAA pitch car park on Military Road, approximately 200m from the main gate.

What to wear: Please wear appropriate clothing and sturdy footwear, as this is an outdoor tour.

Clibeanna Imeachta

Cárta Oidhreachta

Rochtain gan teorainn ar ár n-oidhreacht

Tuilleadh eolais

Bí ar ár liosta seoltaí

Are you happy to receive marketing material via email from Heritage Ireland

Seol