Skip to content

Heritage Ireland

The OPW’s Heritage Services include National Historic Properties, which is responsible for some 30 key historic sites, and the National Monuments Service, which focuses on the 750 National Monuments in State care. Our governance structure comprises of a board which reports to the Minister of State with Special Responsibility for the OPW at the Department of Public Expenditure and Reform.

We are fortunate to have many highly skilled and experienced staff, who remain devoted to protecting and assisting in the interpretation of our heritage sites. We also believe in the value of cooperating with other agencies, museums and private institutions and actively seek out opportunities to work together and build networks of professional support.

Heritage Card

Unlimited access to Ireland’s past

Buy one today

Join our mailing list


Keep up to date on our news, events, activities and publications.