Skip to content

Heritage Ireland

Askeaton Castle

A ruined stronghold of the earls of Desmond

See all opening times

Askeaton Castle

A ruined stronghold of the earls of Desmond

See all opening times

Site Closed

External View Only

Admission

Closed for 2024 season

Getting here

Askeaton Castle,
Office of Public Works,
Askeaton,
Co Limerick.

Get Directions

Follow us

Askeaton Castle

In the very heart of this County Limerick town stand the impressive remains of a medieval fortress. Askeaton Castle dates from 1199, when William de Burgo built it on a rock in the River Deel.

Over the centuries, the castle proved itself key to the history of Munster. It was the power base of the earls of Desmond after 1348. In 1579 it held out against the English general Sir Nicholas Malby, an incident that helped spark the second Desmond Rebellion.

The banqueting hall is one of the finest medieval secular buildings in Ireland. The tower is partly ruined, but some fine windows and an exquisite medieval fireplace have remained.

The early eighteenth-century building nearby was used as a Hellfire Club. These clubs were rumoured to be dens of excess in which wealthy gentlemen indulged in drink, mock ritual and other nefarious activities.

Opening Times

Please note this site is currently closed.

 

Apologies for any inconvenience caused.

 

Contact

Askeaton Castle,
Office of Public Works,
Askeaton,
Co Limerick.

085 8013385

Open location in Google Maps

Click the relevant icon below to open Maps directions

Facilities

  • Unguided site

Restrictions

  • Assistance dogs only
  • External View only
  • Unguided site

Nearby sites to visit

Heritage Card

Unlimited access to Ireland’s past

Buy one today

Join our mailing list

Are you happy to receive marketing material via email from Heritage Ireland

Subscribe