The O’Briens of Thomond, who once ruled much of north Munster, founded this medieval Franciscan friary. It grew quickly into a huge foundation, with 350 friars and a famed school of 600 pupils by 1375. It was the very last school of Catholic theology to survive the Reformation.
The building contains an exceptional wealth of fifteenth- and sixteenth-century sculptures carved in the local hard limestone, including one of St Francis himself displaying the stigmata. An arch between the nave and transept bears a remarkable image of Christ with his hands bound.
Don’t forget to visit the sacristy, an impressive structure with a ribbed, barrel-vaulted ceiling. Take especial note of the beautiful east window, with its five lancets, as it lights up the chancel.
01 April – 2 November 2022
Daily 10:00 – 18:00 ( April – September)
Last admission 45 minutes before closing.
Note Seasonal Openings
Seasonal Opening Times
- April - September
Daily 10:00 – 18:00
Daily 10:00 – 17:00
Access to the site is available for group bookings in the off-season by prior arrangement.
Please be advised that our telephone is currently out of order but you can contact the site by emailing email@example.com
- Guided tours
- Wheelchair Accessible
- Limited Access
- Uneven walkways
Nearby sites to visit
A ruined stronghold of the earls of Desmond
Approx. 27.3 km from Ennis Friary
Desmond Castle Adare
Discover a medieval masterpiece, built for defence
Approx. 33.8 km from Ennis Friary
Desmond Castle Newcastlewest
Where sounds of medieval revelry echo around the walls
Approx. 44.3 km from Ennis Friary