The Dominican priory known as Sligo Abbey has dominated Sligo's eastern district since the town was founded in the mid-thirteenth century. Large parts of the church, sacristy and chapterhouse are preserved from this period, alongside the beautiful fifteenth century cloister and associated buildings.
The Abbey has endured many calamities, including an accidental fire in 1414, the dismantling of a substantial wooden cross for use a battering ram during a siege at the town's castle, and violent destruction at the hands of Plantation landlord Sir Frederic Hamilton in 1642. During the eighteenth century, the now abandoned Abbey functioned as the town's main burial ground, becoming overwhelmed by the influx of victims of cholera in the summer of 1832.
Despite the ravages of history, the Abbey retains a great wealth of carvings, including Gothic and Renaissance monumental sculpture, the well-preserved cloister arcade, and the sculptured fifteenth-century high altar - one of the very few to survive in an Irish monastic church. Visitors can also explore the remains of the dining hall and dormitories on the upper floor, as well as the graveyard, which surrounds the complex.
17 March- 5 November 2023
Daily 10:00- 17:30
Last admission 16:45
071 914 6406
- Guided tours
- Wheelchair Accessible Toilet
- Assistance dogs only
- Limited Access
- Uneven walkways
Nearby sites to visit
Carrowmore Megalithic Cemetery
Ireland’s oldest megalithic tombs set in a dramatic neolithic landscape
Approx. 3.9 km from Sligo Abbey
Walk in the footsteps of planters and Gaels
Approx. 8.9 km from Sligo Abbey
Seán Mac Diarmada Cottage
One of the cradles of the Rising
Approx. 30.2 km from Sligo Abbey